top of page
  • Writer's pictureKirinyth

Slightly Festive Blog Post


It's December. It's already over a week into December to be exact!


This means the silly season has kicked off and things will go progressively down hill until around the 10th January next year.


It’s not that I dislike Christmas per se. I am particularly fond of the lights and I rather like the idea of the spirit of Christmas and I’d be lying if I said I didn’t like the presents. But Christmas has always been an incredibly isolating and lonely time for me. I know I’m far from alone, both literally and in feeling this way.


This year I have started early to try and find some joy in the season, in my own way, of course. In fact I was inspired by a dear friend who has a tradition of picking a theme for each holiday. While I’m not going to go the theme route, I have decided to be a little creative with the Christmas idea.


I decided I wanted to be an elf so when I’m afk I can put myself on a shelf! Yes, I want to be that adorable elf on the shelf that everyone loves so much!

Now I just need a shelf that materialises when I go afk and I am all set!! If you happen to know of any, could kindly point me in the right direction‽


I also have a rather lovely faun I’ve turned into a bit of a Christmas faun! And some other just little bits and bobs to really help me get into the fun.


On a slightly more serious note, the stress people face at this time of year can be extensive. The end of year deadlines are coming up, offices and schools will close for a few days (or weeks in some countries!) and everyone wants to get everything done and finalised to start the new year fresh.

The same is true for our Second Life as the stress of first life trickles in ,as well as the timelines and deadlines. Holidays are approaching and everyone wants everything done right now.


For those that struggle with this time of year, like me, remind yourself to take a moment and breathe. Take an hour and go see that beautiful wonderland sim, go to the shopping event you’ve been putting off, or just chat with your bestie for an hour. Take a moment to ground yourself before the hustle and bustle and stress filter back in. Remind yourself what matters. These moments, the ones filled with friends and love and serenity, these are the moments when Christmas spirit is at its most magical.


Perhaps I am romanticising it a little bit, or maybe not enough. Either way, in finding my own path to separate myself from the pain I feel at this time of year, I have inadvertently found some of my own Christmas Spirit!


Love, Kirinyth



What I’m wearing


Location: http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Peace%20Angel/131/200/26


Tailor Made


Jumper/Sweater: [hh] Zella Set XMAS

Pants: evani. Sanya jeans

Shoes: Addams // Zoe Combat Boots


Accessories


Belt : evani. Christmas lights for Sanya jeans


The Beauty Department


Ears: ^^Swallow^^ Pop Pixie Ears

Hair: Magika - Gemma

Skin: [theSkinnery] Joy sorbet

Head: CATWA HEAD Catya

Body: Maitreya Mesh Body - Lara V5.2


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page