top of page
  • Writer's pictureKirinyth

The Fractured Pixels

One of the things I like about Second Life is the safety. If someone encroaches on my space I can close the chat, walk away or even teleport to another location. If all else fails I can just close the world and leave what ails me behind.


If only first life had this same kind of safety; a way to escape to a calmer, more peaceful place. Or just some way to physically be somewhere else instantly (I’m specifically thinking along the lines of teleports here, not cars or public transport). In some ways that’s what Second Life is for me, that desperately needed escape from the pain and fear of first life. So much is uncertain, so much is yet to be decided and who knows how things will pan out. I suspect they won’t be in our favour and that brings a whole lot more fear and desperation with it.


It’s wonderful to have a space to be me even if I’m fractured between the safety and cosy nature of Second Life and the brutal first life. I’m me but I’m not me at the same time. I’m almost whole in Second Life, yet a part of me still fears the front door opening and it is not my human. I live with the shoe waiting to drop and I’m so very tired.


So I’m spending more time in Second Life and exploring all I can before that damn shoe drops and everything comes crashing down around my ears.


A couple of days ago the ever incredible Sheree sent me a wonderful SLurl for Sandy Cheeks Resort and, I’m not going to lie, I had a great time frolicking around on the beach taking all the photos. It gave me time to ponder this duality of self and whether or not I could reconcile the two halves. The short answer, and the only one I’ll attempt here, is no. Anyway, for all the fantastic information about Sandy Cheeks Resort please head to Sheree’s post and be sure to let her know you read it! I know how much of a kick it is to have some feedback!



Usually, I'd add what I wore and list all the SLurls etc but everything I have is now vintage (circa 2020). If you're still interested in what I wear in my photos let me know and I will list it all out, maybe some items are still available, who knows. *shrugs*


For now, here are some of the pictures I took while parading myself around the beach:



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page